Social Presence

Quick Enquiry

International Education & Immigration Consultants

Skilled Nominated (Permanent)Visa


The Skilled Nominated visa (Subclass 190) is a permanent work visa for individuals who have the qualifications or skills that are needed by the Australian economy, and are nominated or sponsored by a state or territory. The Skilled Nominated Subclass 190 visa replaces both the offshore Skilled - Sponsored Subclass 176 visa and the onshore Subclass 886 visa.It is a permanent visa which requires nomination by a State or Territory Government.

The features of this Visa are:

    • The Applicant should be nominated by a state or territory.
    • Any one granted this Visa can live and work permanently in Australia, provided to that visa holder:
      • Stay in nominated state or territory for at least two years
      • keep the state or territory informed of any changes to address
      • complete surveys and provide information when asked
  • Certain family members can live along with primary visa holder.


Applicants for this visa subclass are required to:

    • Obtain a minimum of 60 points inthe point assessment
    • Have a nomination from any participating State or Territory
    • At the time of Visa Application, be below 50 years of age.
    • Demonstrate that they have a qualification or the skills of an occupation listed on relevant SOL.

The Department of Immigration and Citizenship (DIAC) has set specific requirements that all applicants must suffice in order to apply for a visa in the General Skilled Migration program. Hence, to qualify for this visa, applicants (including dependents) must be able to satisfy the basic visa requirements related to age, English language ability, occupation, skills, qualification, health and character.
In addition, applicants must also pass a points test. Points can be claimed in areas related to age, English language ability, specific work experience, spouse skills and other bonus categories.
The current pass mark for the Skilled Nominated visa (Subclass 190) is 60 points.

To be nominated by a State or Territory government, applicants must satisfy specific criteria, as set by the particular State or Territory, which may include:

    • The occupation should be listed on the state occupation skill list.
    • Demonstrating specialized skills in a particular region of that State or Territory.

Effective from 1stJuly 2012 the new online system has been implemented called "SkillSelect" which will require prospective skilled migrants to submit an Expression of Interest (EOI). Once an EOI is submitted, applicants can apply for nomination with state and territory governments, which has the ability to extend an invitation to lodge a visa application.
There is no guarantee that submitting an EOI will result in an invitation to apply for a visa. If an invitation is received, there will be a prescribed timeframe within which the visa application must then be formally lodged with DIAC.

Duration and Conditions:
The visa is a permanent visa, allowing applicants to remain in Australia indefinitely with full work rights. You would generally be expected to reside for 2 years in the State or Territory which nominated you for the visa.
If you are outside Australia when the visa is granted, you and your family members will need to enter Australia for the first time prior to expiry of your health and police clearances.

  IEIC has significant expertise in handling general skilled visa applications, and can help you with:


    • Getting your skills assessed
    • Obtaining a nomination from a State or Territory Government
    • Putting together a relative sponsorship
    • Lodging visa applications within tight deadlines
    • Managing your bridging visas
    • Getting results with minimum stress and worry for you

Let Us Call You